Wednesday, May 18, 2011


Black 'N' Blue, those hair metal rockers from Portland have returned with a new album. Formed in 1981 under the moniker Movie Star. In 1982, after a move to Los Angeles they made their first recorded appearance on the independent compilation, Metal Massacre. That Metal Massacre album also introduced fellow newcomers Ratt and Metallica. Their self-titled debut was released on Geffen Records in 1984. Three additional albums followed , Without Love in 1985, Nasty, Nasty in 1986 and In Heat in 1988. The last two were produced by Gene Simmons. The band disbanded in 1989 but did reunite once in 1997 on Halloween and recorded their performance. That recording was released as One Night Only: Live and was the last recording produced by the band until this current release. A release that took eight years to finish.

The band reunited in 2003 with all of the original lineup except for Tommy Thayer who had moved on to play the role of Space Ace in Kiss. Shawn Sonnenschein is his replacement. They had reunited to tour and release their first studio album since 1988. That album, "Hell Yeah!" was originally scheduled to be released in September of 2003. After several delays, band members latching on to different projects and lead singer Jaime St. James joining Warrant for a stint the band reunited once again in 2008 and played the Rocklahoma music festival. Then finally in 2009 they went back into the studio to complete "Hell Yeah!" which, after being first started in 2003 was released finally on May 17, 2011.

Fans of Black 'N' Blue will hear the opening riffs of "Monkey" and instantly think, hey that's Black 'N' Blue. Those loyal fans of the band, that must be who this album was made for. It's definitely a throwback to the Black 'N' Blue heydays of the 80s. If you're were not a Black 'N' Blue fan in the 80s but you are into good sounding good time hair metal you'll enjoy this album for the most part as well. The tongue-in-cheek lyrics, sing along choruses and grooves you can tap your feet too make this an entertaining record. There are a couple of valleys here though. "World Goes Round" for one. If St. James wasn't singing this one I would've thought a different CD was somehow playing. Doesn't seem to fit with the rest of the tracks or with who Black 'N' Blue are. Maybe it's just me.

In a year that is shaping up to be one of  the best for hard rock CD releases this is one you can add to the list of worth buying. Black 'N' Blue fans surely will and they will definitely not be disappointed. "Hell Yeah!" is available on Frontiers Records.


1. Monkey
2. Target
3. Hail Hail
4. Fools Bleed
5. C’mon
6. Jaime’s Got the Beer
7. Angry Drunk Son of a Bitch
8. So Long
9. Trippin’
10. Falling Down
11. Candy
12. Hell Yeah!
13. World Goes Round
14. A Tribute to Hawking

No comments:

Post a Comment