Monday, May 2, 2011


King Kobra is a hard rock/glam metal band that was originally founded by drumming legend Carmine Appice in 1984 after his stint with Ozzy Osbourne. The band Carmine surrounded himself with was guitarists David Michael-Philips & Mick Sweda, bassist Johnny Rod and vocalist Mark Free. They released two albums on Capiol Records (Ready To Strike released in 1985 and Thrill Of A Lifetime released in 1986). There was a revamped lineups that released King Kobra III in 1988 and Hollywood Trash in 2001. There was also a compilation album released in 1999 called the lost years.

2011 finds Carmine Appice reviving King Kobra with the original lineup except for Mark Free who in 1993 came out to the world as Marcie Free having had gender dysphoria all his/her life. Vocalist Paul Shortino(Rough Cutt, Quiet Riot) joins the original four-fifths of King Kobra. This new lineup is ready to take the world by storm with their self-titled new release.

"King Kobra" is a strong collection of twelve new songs that make it hard to believe they have been gone for as long as they have. These great musicians sound like they have been playing together for decades not like they have been apart for one. The first track, "Rock This House" leaves no doubt about it, this is a kick you in the rear rocking album that grabs you, shakes you and all in a good way.  "Turn Up The Good Times" solidifies your return to the 80s and makes you wish this band had made twenty records together. "Live Forever", "Tear Down The Walls" there is not a dud in the whole bunch. A terrific collection of songs by equally terrific musicians. You also will find it hard not to listen to "This Is How We Roll" over and over. Great tune. "We Got A Fever", "You Make It Easy" the great music just keeps hitting you. The album ends on an impassioned note with "Fade Away".

I am sure a lot of cynics felt Carmine put King Kobra back together to capitalize on the resurgence of the hard rock genre but the songwriting, musicianship and finished product show a passion and creative desire that for me proves it was all about putting together some great tunes that make your ears cry for more.


 1. Rock This House
 2. Turn Up The Good Times
 3. Live Forever
 4. Tear Down The Walls
 5. This Is How We Roll
 6. Midnight Woman
 7. We Got A Fever
 8. Top Of The World
 9. You Make It Easy
10. Cryin' Turns To Rain
11. Screamin' For More
12. Fade Away

Released on Frontiers Records May 3, 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment