Monday, May 30, 2011


Founded in 1987, U.D.O. is a German heavy metal band that was founded by former Accept lead singer Udo Dirkschneider. U.D.O. has seen a lot of lineup changes over the 24 years since. The current lineup surrounding Udo has been together since 2004. They are Stefan Kaufmann on guitar, Igor Gianola on guitar, Fitty Wienhold on bass and Francesco Jovino on drums.

The latest release from U.D.O. is the thirteen track "Rev-Raptor". There is no new ground broken on this album for U.D.O.. It's is exactly what you expect from U.D.O. the band and Udo the man going all the way back to his Accept days. Right in your face, grab you by the balls headbanging metal. Although there is no surprise and you know what to expect here, Rev-Raptor is a sold metal record.

Similar to icons such as Ozzy Osboourne, Ronnie James Dio and a handful of others Udo's voice is instantly recognizable and is not going to be mistaken for anyone else. His no nonsense 80s metal style vocals are complimented with twin killing guitar licks from Kaufman and Gianola as well as a crushing wall of rhythm from Wienhold and Jovino. And although "Rev-Raptor" is done in the same style and formula as all of U.D.O.'s releases it stands well on its own as a solid heavy metal album.

This is classic 80s heavy metal at its finest performed by fine musicians and one of the most underrated front men of the genre. If you enjoy no-frills, in your face music with dueling guitars and a wall of sound then U.D.O. is without question the band for you. If you haven't tried their music before then "Rev-Raptor" is as good a place to start as any. You'll be looking for that back catalog of theirs in no time.


  1. Rev-Raptor
  2. Leatherhead
  3. Renegade
  4. I Give as Good as I Get
  5. Dr. Death
  6. Rock’N'Roll Soldiers
  7. Terrorvision
  8. Underworld
  9. Pain Man
  10. Fairy Tales of Victory
  11. Motor-Borg
  12. True Born Winners
  13. Days of Hope and Glory
Released May 31, 2011 on AFM

No comments:

Post a Comment