Thursday, May 26, 2011


The Rods is the legendary but highly underrated heavy metal band formed by the late great Ronnie James Dio's cousin, David Feinstein. Joining David Feinstein, who plays guitar and vocals, is Garry Bordonaro on bass and vocals and Carl Canedy on drums and vocals. The Rods have burst on the scene over 30 years ago and have toured the world with some of the biggest names in hard rock and metal. In the early 80s a then unknown band named Metallica opened for them on their own headlining tour. After an extended absence The Rods reunited in 2008 and have recently released their first studio album in more than two decades and a half. If you are not familiar with The Rods or even never heard of them, you should do your self a favor and take a listen to this fine group of musicians.

"Vengeance" is the new CD release by The Rods. Although it seems for some unexplained reason The Rods never achieved the acclaim or success their music deserves there is a good chance this fine release may change that. This album is complete with eleven solid tracks. The stand out for me is the first single, "The Code". "The Code" features on vocals none other than Feinstein's cousin, Ronnie James Dio. This one of the last two vocal recordings of Ronnie before his untimely death a year ago this month. The other is the song "Metal Will Never Die" on Feinstein's solo effort, "Bitten By The Beast". The intense rhythm from Bordonaro and Canedy along with a great riff and even better solo from Feinstein really meshes well with Ronnie's legendary voice.

Don't let Ronnie's appearance on this album fool you. Even without "The Code" this is a solid hard rock record by a trio of fine musicians. This is straight forward hard rock with a very 80s vibe. Anthem style lyrics, solid guitar riffs and impressive solos. These guys know how to rock. Do your self a favor and give The Rods "Vengeance" a try and then go out and listen to their back catalog. Your inner headbanger will thank you for it.


01. Raise Some Hell
02. I Just Wanna Rock
03. Rebels Highway
04. Ride Free Or Die
05. The Code
06. Livin' Outside The Law
07. Let It Rip
08. Fight Fire With Fire
09. Madman
10. Running Wild
11. Vengeance
Released May 23, 2011 on Niji Entertainment

No comments:

Post a Comment